Saturday, March 19, 2011

Jacketflap Home to Children's Choice Book Awards Finalists- Congratulations to All!

Image representing JacketFlap as depicted in C...Image via CrunchBase
The finalists for the 2011 Children's Choice Book Awards were just announced. I'm excited to say that books written by four of JacketFlap's members are among the finalists! Please join me in congratulating the four finalists by clicking their names below and leaving a congratulations comment on their profiles:

Shark vs. Train, by Chris Barton

Hot Rod Hamster, by Cynthia Lord

Finally, by Wendy Mass

Even Monsters Need Haircuts, by Matthew McElligott

Shark vs. TrainEven Monsters Need HaircutsHot Rod Hamster

Voting for the finalists is now open. Children and teens will be able to cast their votes for their favorite books, author, and illustrator at bookstores, school libraries, and at the Book Week website ( until Friday, April 29, 2011. More than 15,000 child ren and teens from around the US spent months reading and evaluating books submitted by publishers to select the finalists in the Book of the Year categories; the Favorite Author and Illustrator finalists were selected by the Children's Book Council from an evaluation of best-seller lists. The winner in each category will be named at a gala celebration on May 2, 2011, hosted by 2010 3rd-4th Grade Book of the Year winner Jarrett Krosoczka, at The Lighthouse in New York City, as part of Children's Book Week (May 2-8, 2011), the oldest national literacy initiative in the United States.

To enhance the awareness of the awards, the Children's Book Council is working with JacketFlap again this year to create a Children's Choice Book Awards Widget, which displays a different finalist book every time it loads on a web site or blog. You can get the Widget for your own blog or web site at:

http :// (Check in Right Column!)

Please spread the word to children and teens so they can vote. Remember, voting ends April 29, 2011! The full list of award finalists are listed below.


Kindergarten to Second Grade Book of the Year:

Even Monsters Need Haircuts by Matthew McElligott (Walker)
Hot Rod Hamster by Cynthia Lord, illustrated by Derek Anderson (Scholastic Press)

How Rocket Learned to Read by Tad Hills (Schwartz & Wade/ Random House)
Little Pink Pup by Johanna Kerby (Putnam/Penguin)
Shark vs. Train by Chris Barton, illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld (Little, Brown)

Third Grade to Fourth Grade Book of the Year:

Babymouse # 12: Burns Rubber by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm (Random House)
Bad Kitty vs. Uncle Murray: The Uproar at the Front Door by Nick Bruel (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)
Encyclopedia Mythologica: Gods & Heroes by Matthew Reinhart and Robe rt Sabuda (Candlewick)
Finally by Wendy Mass (Scholastic Press)
Lunch Lady and the Summer Camp Shakedown by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Knopf/Random House)

Fifth Grade to Sixth Grade Book of the Year:

Big Nate: In a Class by Himself by Lincoln Peirce (HarperCollins)
It's a Book by Lane Smith (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)
The Red Pyramid (The Kane Chronicles, Book 1) by Rick Riordan (Disney-Hyperion)
Smile by Raina Telgemeier (Graphix/Scholastic)
Zebrafish by Peter H. Reynolds and FableVision (Atheneum/Simon & Schuster)

Teen Choice Book of the Year:

Burned (House of Night, Book 7) by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast (St. MartinĂ¢?Ts Griffin/Macmillan)
Fang (A Maximum Ride Novel) by James Patterson (Little, Brown)
Mockingjay (The Final Book of The Hunger Games) by Suzanne Collins (Scholastic Press)
Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy, Book 5) by Richelle Mead (Razorbill/Penguin)
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan (Dutton/Penguin)

Author of the Year:

Cassandra Clare for Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices, Book 1) (McElderry/Simon & Schuster)
Suzanne Collins for Mockingjay (The Final Book of The Hunger Games) (Scholastic Press)
Jeff Kinney for Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Ugly Truth (Amulet/Abrams)
Stephenie Meyer for The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner (Megan Tingley/Little, Brown)
Rick Riordan for The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) (Disney-Hyperion)

Illustrator of the Year:

Robin Preiss Glasser for Fancy Nancy and the Fabulous Fashion Boutique (HarperCollins)
Loren Long for Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to My Daughters (Knopf/Random House)
Nancy Tillman for Wherever You Are: My Love Will Find You (Feiwel & Friends/Macmillan)
David Wiesner for Art & Max (Clarion/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Mo Willems for Knuffle Bunny Free: An Unexpected Diversion (Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins) 

Tracy Grand
CEO, JacketFlap 

Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Post a Comment