Monday, October 4, 2010

Bruce DeSilva Gets Rave Reviews - Chat With Him Today at 4 PM EST!

Rogue Island
Rogue Island is a tense, terrific thriller and a remarkably assured debut from Bruce DeSilva, an author to watch. -- Dennis Lehane, best-selling author of Mystic River and Shutter Island.

The Rhode Island of Bruce DeSilva’s imagination is a claustrophobic little state where everyone knows your name, secrets are hard to keep, and corruption has ruled since the first colonial governor dined with Captain Kidd. In this vivid landscape peopled by colorful mobsters, brutal cops and sleazy politicians, a droll hero named Mulligan fights long odds to find a measure of justice. Rogue Island is a stunning debut in the noir tradition. -- Harlan Coben, New York Times bestselling author of Long Lost and Hold Tight.

Rogue Island is a blast! Writing with genuine authority, a dose of cynical humor and a squinting eye on the world, Bruce DeSilva delivers a newspaper story that ranks with the best of them. -- Michael Connelly, best-selling author of the Harry Bosch crime novels.

Bruce DeSilva puts it all out there: a gripping plot, memorable characters, and terrific writing. Rogue Island is a stunning debut, and DeSilva is a writer to watch. -- Alafair Burke, author of 212.

Not since Dennis Lehane's A Drink Before the War have I read a first novel as compelling and sure-handed as DeSilva's Rogue Island. Investigative reporter Liam Mulligan has the tough-talking charm, the old school street smarts, and sexy chivalry of a Marlowe or Spade. He needs all these skills to navigate a world where vigilantes prowl the neighborhood with baseball bats, and everyone from sleazy politicians to mafia losers are out to slice off their pound of flesh. I hope Mulligan is around for years to come. He’s funny, fallible, and real.
-- James W. Hall, Edgar-Award-winning author of Hell’s Bay and Magic City

Fans of Michael Connelly and Robert B. Parker, rejoice. L.S.A. Mulligan is on the case. Rogue Island is full of high spirits, low cunning and barbed wit. A wry and entertaining debut in the grand hard-boiled tradition from Bruce DeSilva. -- Peter Blauner, critically acclaimed author of Slow Motion Riot and Slipping Into Darkness.

Bruce DeSilva knows exactly how thrillers work, and he pulls out all the stops in this impressive debut. With a powerful and authentic sense of place, DeSilva peels back the curtain and shows us the real deal; a Providence as gritty and corrupt as any big city, and deadlier than most. -– Sean Chercover, award-winning author of Trigger City.

Live on Facebook's Reviewers Roundup Discussion Board...Bruce DeSilva will be discussing his book, writing and much more!

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=155091741301&v=app_2373072738#!/topic.php?uid=155091741301&topic=14766

If you find you can't participate (comment), click quickly bad to Reviewers Roundup Group, join and come on back to talk!